Notes

- In this report, the term "EBRD regions" refers to the 33 EBRD economies of operation where the fourth round of the Life in Transition Survey (LiTS IV) was conducted in the second half of 2022 and the first half of 2023: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Estonia, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, the Kyrgyz Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Serbia, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Türkiye, Uzbekistan and the West Bank and Gaza.
- Egypt, Turkmenistan and Ukraine were not covered by LiTS IV. Consequently, they are not included in this report, either.
- Germany was included in the survey as a comparator to allow us to benchmark the EBRD regions against an advanced market economy, thereby giving us a clearer perspective on the remaining challenges facing the EBRD's economies of operation.
- Algeria, Belarus and Russia were included as additional comparators, but are not included in any regional aggregates. On 4 April 2022 the EBRD announced that, following the invasion of Ukraine, its Board of Governors had formally suspended Belarus's and Russia's access to EBRD funding for projects and technical cooperation.
- More recently, the survey has also been carried out in Benin, Côte d'Ivoire, Ghana, Iraq, Kenya, Nigeria and Senegal. Note, however, that none of the references to the survey or its results in this report include those seven countries.
- All charts based on LiTS data use survey-weighted observations. Regional averages are calculated as simple averages across the economies in the relevant region. Chart notes provide further information about the variables and datasets used in the analysis.

Abbreviations

Albania	ALB
Algeria	DZA
Armenia	ARM
Azerbaijan	AZE
Belarus	BLR
Bosnia and Herzegovina	BIH
Bulgaria	BGR
Croatia	HRV
Czechia	CZE
Estonia	EST
Georgia	GEO
Germany	DEU
Greece	GRC
Hungary	HUN
Jordan	JOR
Kazakhstan	KAZ
Kosovo	KOS
Kyrgyz Republic	KGZ
Latvia	LVA
Lebanon	LBN
Lithuania	LTU
Moldova	MDA
Mongolia	MNG
Montenegro	MNE
Morocco	MAR
North Macedonia	MKD
Poland	POL
Romania	ROU
Russia	RUS
Serbia	SRB
Slovak Republic	SVK
Slovenia	SVN
Tajikistan	TJK
Tunisia	TUN
Türkiye	TUR
Uzbekistan	UZB
West Bank and Gaza	PSE